Betting guide

How to Bet on Davis Cup – History and Main Winners


Idealizers of the tournament, the Americans are the greatest Davis Cup champions, with 32 trophies in total. Australia (which includes the titles it won when it competed as Australasia) has 28, and is second in this respect.

The United Kingdom (which adds up the titles from when it competed as the British Isles) has ten world tennis titles, alongside France, also with ten. The top six finishers are Sweden and Spain, with seven and six, respectively.

Despite the tradition, the last time the United States won was in 2007, when they boasted names like Andy Roddick, James Blake and the historic winning duo of brothers Bob and Mike Bryan.

The same can be said about Australia, which last saw its tennis players lift the Davis Cup back in 2003. The UK, meanwhile, were champions most recently in 2015, but until then had not won a title since the 1936 season.

Australia’s Roy Emerson, with eight wins between 1959 and 1976, is the tennis player who has won the most Davis Cups in the history of the competition. The record holder for match appearances is Italy’s Nicola Pietrangeli, with 163 matches.

As it is today

In 2020, the tournament was not held as a result of the Covid-19 pandemic. Therefore, it must be acknowledged that the most recent comparative data for the competition is somewhat lagging.

Even so, the individual highlight of Spain’s 2019 title was Rafael Nadal. Currently 35, the clay king is ranked 6th in the ATP rankings, three places ahead of Switzerland’s Roger Federer, who continues to play at a very high level at the age of 40.

Since then, the famous New York Yankees franchise has put on great performances. As a result, the team from the Big Apple has won an incredible 27 MLB titles. But most of the trophies were won in the 20th century, with the most recent victory coming in 2009.

The St. Louis Cardinals have also made a name for themselves on North American turf. After all, the redbirds have 11 championship trophies. Similarly to the Yankees, a large portion of their titles came in the last century.

All MLB champions

Below, check out all the winning teams of the best baseball league in the world.

The Yankees, the defending champions, have 40 playoff appearances, with 27 wins and 13 losses. The last one, in 2009, ended in victory for NY against Phillies. The Japanese player Hideki Matsui, also known as “Godzilla”, was the MVP of the playoffs.

MLB Curiosities

Jul 10, 2021; St. Petersburg, Florida, USA;Toronto Blue Jays left fielder Lourdes Gurriel Jr. (13) singles during the fourth inning against the Tampa Bay Rays at Tropicana Field. Mandatory Credit: Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

Second in the list of champions, the Cardinals went two great periods without going to the playoffs. The first lasted 14 years, from 1968 to 1982. The second was 17 years, between 1987 and 2004. It also went 24 years without a title.

But nothing compares to the Chicago Cubs’ historical taboo, as the franchise’s fans have waited 108 years to shout out for the championship. The streak lasted from 1908 to 2016! Imagine the teasing from their rivals.

Finally, New York Yankees x Los Angeles Dodgers is the most common game in the finals. The duel decided the championship on 11 occasions, with eight New York victories and only three of the Californian team.

Regarding the players, the legendary hitter Babe Ruth is considered the greatest of all time. Playing for the Red Sox, Yankees and Braves between 1914 and 1935, Ruth set impressive records, such as 714 home runs and 2213 runs.

Now you know a little bit of MLB history. And when it comes to betting, information like the above is essential. Just like the ones below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *